Wpis z mikrobloga

"I have a degree in fish biology. Not marine biology, not regular biology, fish biology.

Anyone saying “farmed” fish are parasite free has no idea how fish are actually raised. Especially ocean species raised in offshore net pens. For example do a quick google search for sea lice on ocean net pen raised fish… Do not take “farmed fish are safe” as good advice.

Big parasites are generally easy to see and remove. However, something like an encysted nematode is easy to miss when butchering a fish. Cestode eggs and larva are tiny and easy to miss. Bacteria are smaller than your eye can see and you will miss it.

There is no such thing as a pathogen free fish, aquacultured or wild caught. Most parasites are removed during the gutting/ scaling/ butchering process, but it is not a guarantee. Some parasites live in/ migrate through a fishes musculature. This is especially true of fish not kept at extremely cold temperatures. Some parasites like anasakis will migrate through a fish as temperatures of a fish increase. Encysted parasites will leave their cyst and migrate. This is the reason (part of it) the usda and fda recommend cooking all seafood. Cooking sea food to a safe temp will kill parasites. Fish parasites are very hearty and can survive normal freezer temperatures. To kill parasites by freezing they need to be frozen to a much lower temperature a home or big box store freezer can get to.

Just because a fish is labeled sashimi grade does not mean it’s safe to eat. It’s literally just a marketing term. There’s no legal requirement to freeze fish to a low enough temp for long enough to kill parasites.

I’m not giving anyone advice on what to do and none of this should be construed as advice. I am not a lawyer and everything you do is at your own risk.